The 3 Things I Wish I knew about Salesforce in the Beginning…

When I first was introduced to Salesforce I didn’t know anything about CRM at the time. As I jumped into the deep end and started self-training through the available videos in 2009 I had no idea just how versatile the platform would become. The initial training videos were nowhere near as comprehensive as the current Trailhead training platform. As the years have progressed there have been times when I have thought “this would have been easier if only I had known this in the beginning”. I have picked the top 3 things I wish I had known in 2009 as I started immersing myself in the world of Salesforce.

  1. There is more than Sales Cloud to the Salesforce platform. Get to know Service, Marketing and App Cloud. Your company may only use one Cloud but App cloud is available to everyone and can open your platform up for customization and integration through multiple API’s. The more acquainted you are with all of the Salesforce Clouds the more likely you’ll be able to pass certification (if you want too) and if you ever end up moving onto a new company using a different Cloud.
  2. The Success Community is amazing and very friendly. Any questions or concerns you have there is someone willing to give suggestions and solutions. Every single question I have posted in the Success Community someone has responded and helped me think thru a solution. There are numerous Salesforce groups on LinkedIn with open membership who respond to posted questions and concerns as well.
  3. Sandboxes!!!! I had no idea what a sandbox was the first 3 years of Salesforce diving. Now every change, new field, or validation rule I build is activated and tested in a sandbox. Everyone has at least one developer Sandbox, though it’s limited on the amount of data that can be put in it at least you can safely test all of your changes to ensure success. Activate it as soon as possible and start building and testing.

Of course as you go along in Salesforce, building Sandboxes and positing in the Success Community remember you know more than you realize. Everyone is willing to share, educate and succeed together. Salesforce is one of the best IT and CRM Companies in the market. This is not because of the platform alone but because the people who work for Salesforce and those who work within the platform itself that make it one of the best CRM’s available. I wish I had known just how much would change in the last five years, I would have blogged sooner.

Suggested Articles:

http://www.adminhero.com/90-things-i-wish-i-knew-as-a-new-administrator/

http://www.adminhero.com/90-things-i-wish-i-knew-as-a-new-administrator/

http://www.sfbullet.com/what-5-years-as-a-salesforce-admin-has-taught-me/

https://www.reddit.com/r/salesforce/comments/2v7smc/veteran_sys_admins_architects_of_salesforce_what/

https://certifiedondemand.com/introduction-to-salesforce-sandboxes

https://help.salesforce.com/apex/HTViewHelpDoc?id=create_test_instance.htm

 

 

3 thoughts on “The 3 Things I Wish I knew about Salesforce in the Beginning…

  1. I’ve been browsing on-line greater than 3 hours today, yet I by
    no means found any fascinating article like
    yours. It’s beautiful value enough for me. Personally, if all site owners and bloggers made good
    content material as you did, the net will probably be
    a lot more useful than ever before.

Leave a Reply

